Road to Sunset Boulevard

Ratu Salza
3 min readDec 31, 2020

--

Sunset Boulevard (2020)

I met a girl, she enjoys sunset and Charles Trenet — La Mer more than other people in the world, one day she told me she wanted the song to be her wedding song.

This is how I imagine how it goes.

I can imagine people seeing her walking down the aisle with the beautiful white-gown-that-is-too-long it sweeps every 5 cm behind her.

Her face covered with a veil, her head lowered down while walking down the aisle, but everyone still longing to see her face.

Her skinny and small stature felt big that day, somehow everyone gasped once she walked into the room, not that she’s surprising, she’s predictable at best, yet she vacuumed all the oxygen in the room, leaving all the men with growing envy in their heart.

We once talked about how she loves sunset more than sunrise.
We once talked about how she loves the beach more than the mountain.
We once talked about how I love the sunset just as she does, but she loves the beach more than the mountain is something I can’t comprehend.

That is something we don’t argue.
That is something we both can accept.

She loves the beach and the sunset all the same, and all is fair.

As she’s walking down the flowery aisle, I see her smiling in the corner of her lips. Something that I’m used to seeing all the time.

I can imagine how she would feel if she’s walking through a sunset boulevard, accompanied by Charles Trenet — La Mer, holding a bouquet of flowers with people adoring her for every step she takes, for every gaze she makes.

She must be the happiest girl in the world.

And I will be the happiest man in the world if I’m walking with her through all that.

But the sunset never came, the Charles Trenet-La Mer never played for the both of us, and I was gazing at her from far away.

Seconds later, a very lucky man put a ring on her finger with La Mer in the background, she’s shedding a tear of joy, as I was shedding a tear of sorrow in the corner of the room letting my sunset go…

She cuts me off “Wait, so you’re saying the man never got to be with the girl in the end? But why?” she asked me calmly as she gazes far to the ocean and sunset in front of us.

“It turns out when sunset ends, and sunrise came, he was not in love with the sunset, rather what comes after it, so both of them have to let go of each other. But at least she got what she wants right? sunset and La mer?” as I gaze further into the ocean.

She turns her head and asks, “What if, she will walk with you through the night as well?”

“Then I’ll be gladly walking in the sunset boulevard”

“What’s a sunset boulevard anyway?”

“A road where the sound of sea wave crashes into the bay in the background, and where sunset never ends…”

“That sounds like a dream,” she laughs, “a rather good dream indeed.”

Untuk Maudy (2020 menyambut 2021).

--

--